Dairy Free Tiramisu

I have a reputation among friends, family and colleagues for being quite the part-time baker and I never turn down the opportunity to make a delicious treat, even if it’s not something I would pick to eat.

I was asked to make a dairy free tiramisu for my boyfriend’s birthday. Having never made a tiramisu before and not being a lover of the coffee and amaretto dessert myself, I decided that a test run was absolutely necessary. I found a recipe online, bought the ingredients and fired up my mum’s coffee machine. With only four steps to the recipe I convinced myself that it would be easy to make, but the taste test proved me wrong. The lady fingers were incredibly watery, despite the recipe saying to soak them and the ‘cream’ mixture tasted more like egg with just a hint of amaretto. Not wanting to be defeated or make the same mistake twice, I decided to have a second test run with a different recipe that used thick coconut yoghurt instead of coconut cream and a dash of vanilla essence as well as the all-important amaretto measurement.

I took my time with this one, regularly checking back to the recipe to ensure no step was missed or combined with another and the second attempt went a lot smoother with the finished result looking pretty good if I do say so myself. As for the taste test, well my dad (who is also not a massive fan of this dessert) ate the single portion and he quite enjoyed it. I did have a taste myself and I have to say, I could have eaten a whole portion rather than just a spoonful…success!

dairy free tiramisu

So for those of you that are a fan of this popular Italian pudding, please find the recipe below and I would love to know how you get on if you do indeed make it.

Dairy Free Tiramisu

Ingredients:

A mug of coffee

2 tablespoons of amaretto liqueur for the coffee mixture and 1 tablespoon for the cream mixture (or whichever liqueur you prefer)

2 large eggs (these will need to be separated into the yolks and whites)

2 tablespoons of caster sugar

½ teaspoon of vanilla essence

¾ cup of coconut yoghurt

Pinch of salt

A packet containing at least 12 finger sponges

For the decoration:

Dark chocolate cocoa powder

Dark chocolate shavings

How to…

Make the coffee and add the amaretto (or whichever liqueur you prefer) and leave to one side to cool.

Separate the eggs yolks and whites and with the yolks, add the caster sugar and beat together until combined and the colour is pale yellow.

Add the coconut yoghurt, vanilla, pinch of salt, vanilla essence and a tablespoon of amaretto liqueur and beat together until combined. Then leave to one side.

Next take the eggs whites and whisk to stiff peaks. Once this is done, add this to the other mixture and mix until combined.

Get the dish that you’re making the tiramisu in and on one side have the coffee and the finger sponges and on the other have the creamy mixture.

Start with a layer of the mixture on the bottom of the dish.

Then take a finger sponge and dip both sides into the coffee and amaretto mixture, allow any excess to drip off and then place it on top of the mixture. Repeat this step until you have a layer of finger sponges.

Then add a layer of ‘cream’ mixture, repeat the above step to add another layer of finger sponges and finish with another layer of ‘cream’ mixture. (If like me you have some excess ‘cream’ mixture left over, then you could make a single tiramisu in a glass/small dish).

Place in the fridge for a few hours to set and just before serving, dust the top with dark chocolate cocoa powder and a sprinkle of dark chocolate shavings.

dairy free tiramisuimag5835_1

Leave a Reply

