Award Winning Cupcakes

The Mid-Somerset Show is an annual event that offers great family fun. Usually I go with my parents and we walk around looking at the various stalls and occasionally treating ourselves to something like a bag of fudge or some crockery for the kitchen. Last year though I decided to enter into the arts & craft competition and in particular the cupcakes and tray bakes. (Click here to see my winning tray bakes)

Even though I’m an avid baker and won star baker at work, I was nervous to submit two entries for a local show, where potentially someone else with many more years’ experience was going to over shadow me with a family recipe that was both impressive and delicious. Despite my fear, I still wanted to give it a go and just see what would happen.

For the cupcake entry, I entered my own creation of vanilla cupcakes with white chocolate icing and strawberry sauce, finished with a strawberry dipped in white chocolate. I have to say I was impressed with the way they turned out considering I hadn’t done a trial run, left the cupcake making until the morning of when I needed to drop them off and had a last minute dash to Tesco for strawberry sauce. I only needed five but there needed to look consistent, same level sponge, same amount of icing and equal size strawberries. I tasted the ones that didn’t quite make the grade and although my dad would say they had too much icing on, that’s personal preference and I know many people that would say you can’t have too much icing.

If you want to try making these at home then the recipe is below and if you do give them a go, let me know as I would love to see how they turned out and what you think.

vanilla white chocolate and strawberry cupcakes

Vanilla cupcakes with white chocolate icing, strawberry sauce & white chocolate covered strawberries

Ingredients:

For the cupcakes:

120g plain flour

140g caster sugar

1 ½ teaspoons of baking powder

A pinch of salt

40g unsalted butter

120ml whole milk

1 egg

¼ teaspoon vanilla extract

For the icing:

130g icing sugar

130g unsalted butter

80g white chocolate

For the decoration:

Strawberry sauce

Enough strawberries for one on each cupcake

White chocolate for melting

How to…

Wash and dry the strawberries while you melt white chocolate in a bowl. Then dip the strawberries into the white chocolate and place them on a tray lined with greaseproof paper and put in the fridge to set

white chocolate dipped strawberries

Preheat the oven to 170°C and line you tin with cupcake cases

Whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder, salt and butter in a bowl until everything is combined and you get a sandy consistency

Pour in half the milk and mix until combined

In a separate bowl mix together the egg, vanilla extract and remaining milk then pour into the other mixture and whisk until combined

Spoon the mixture into your cupcake cases and bake for 20 – 25 minutes until the sponge turns a light golden colour and the sponge bounces back when touched. Then leave to cool completely before decorating

vanilla cupcakesvanilla cupcakes with white chocolate icing

 

For the icing, melt the white chocolate in a bowl

Whisk together the butter and icing sugar until light and fluffy and then add the meted white chocolate and whisk until combined

Pipe your icing onto your cupcakes

Then pour some strawberry sauce in a little bowl and with a teaspoon, scoop some up and drizzle it over your cupcakes

Take the tray of strawberries out of the fridge and place one on the center of each cupcake

white chocolate coated strawberriesvanilla white chocolate and strawberry cupcakesfirst place cupcakes

Leave a Reply

