Dairy Free Oreo Brownies

There is always a risk of receiving a joke present when you partake in Secret Santa. For me though, my baking reputation means I got a gift that would see me putting on my apron. Yes, I got all the ingredients to make a batch of Oreo brownies. Whether my Secret Santa knew or not, the recipe in my gift bag was the same one that I used to win first place in the Mid-Somerset Show last year.

Mid-Somerset Show dairy free Oreo brownies

To be fair these brownies are really good so I didn’t mind making them again. They have a crisp top, gooey in the centre with crunchy pieces of Oreo cookie mixed in.

The original recipe is from a website called BakingMad.com and it’s not dairy free, but I’ve done a lot of baking recently using dairy free alternatives to ingredients such as milk and butter. So in order for Tom to have a slice too, I used my much loved alternatives which I have written below for you.

So if you’re a chocoholic, or just love a good brownie square to complement a glass of milk then I would definitely recommend this recipe.

Dairy Free Oreo Brownies

(makes about 12 squares depending how you cut them)

Ingredients:

165g dairy free butter (I use Flora Freedom)

200g dark chocolate

5 eggs in total (3 whole eggs & 2 egg yolks)

2 teaspoons of vanilla extract

165g light muscovado brown sugar

2 tablespoons of plain white flour

1 tablespoon of cocoa powder

A pinch of salt

154g Oreos (1 packet)

Icing sugar for decoration

How to…

Preheat the oven to 180°C and line a 20cm square baking tray with greaseproof paper

Melt the butter and chocolate together until smooth (I did this in the microwave on a low heat, checking regularly after 20 seconds each time)

Whisk together the eggs, egg yolks and vanilla extract until light and fluffy

Then add the sugar in two parts, making sure you pour it around the side of the mixture and whisk until combined

Add the flour, salt, cocoa powder and a third of the biscuits (break these into quarters) and mix until combined

imag5994imag6000

Pour the mixture into your tin and with the remaining biscuits, break them into quarters and scatter them over the top, pressing them in slightly

Bake for 25 – 30 minutes and then once out of the oven, leave them to cool before adding a light dusting of icing sugar

Dairy Free Oreo Brownies

 

Leave a Reply

