National Cupcake Week

Did you know there was such a thing as National Cupcake Week? I didn’t, but when I found out I was excited to have a reason to bake some more cupcakes!

Of course I couldn’t spend the whole week baking cupcakes because who would have eaten them all?! But each morning that week I posted a photo on Instagram of various cupcake creations baked in the past.

img_20160927_202159

When I did get back in the kitchen I decided to something a little different by trying my hand at cupcake pops. They didn’t turn out quite as I thought, but in some ways they turned out better. Instead of looking like the mini cupcake on a stick that I had pictured, they looked like roses. Something that seemed to really impress my mum who absolutely loves flowers.

Before I go into how to make them, I will apologise now for the lack of photos in this post, unfortunately I was on autopilot and forgot that my phone charging next to the coffee machine was also there to be used to take pictures.

National Cupcake Week

For those of you that would like to give these sweet treats a try, please find the recipe below…enjoy!

6 Vanilla Cupcakes and 16 Mini Cupcake Pops

Ingredients:

For the sponge (cupcakes and cupcake pops):

120g self raising flour (I would usually use plain flour and add 1½ teaspoons of baking powder but in this instance I ran out of plain flour)

140g caster sugar

40g dairy free butter

120ml almond milk

1 egg

¼ teaspoon of vanilla extract 

For the icing:

125g icing sugar

40g dairy free butter

¼ teaspoon vanilla essence

A few drops of pink food colouring

For the decoration of the cupcake pops:

Sprinkles

White and dark chocolate

How to…

Preheat your oven to 170°C and line a baking tray with 16 mini cupcake cases and 6 regular size cases

To make the sponge mixture, beat together the flour, sugar and butter until you get a crumbly mixture

Next add the milk, egg and vanilla essence and whisk together until combined

Divide the mixture between the mini and regular sized cupcake cases and pop them in the oven for 20 – 25 minutes (the mini ones were done after 20 but I gave the bigger cupcakes the full 25 minutes)

Once baked, leave them on a wire rack to cool completely, then you can begin with decorating the mini cupcakes and assembling them on the pop sticks

First melt your white and dark chocolate in separate bowls or just use one type of chocolate if you prefer

Then remove the mini cupcake cases and dip each cupcake into the melted chocolate, covering the bottom and sides

Place the cupcakes top side down on a plate or baking tray and dip a pop stick in the melted chocolate and insert one into the center of each mini cupcake

Scatter sprinkles of your choice over the mini cupcakes and then place in the fridge for 1 -2 hours to set

Once the mini cupcake pops are set you can make the icing to decorate both the pops and the cupcakes

In a bowl whisk together the butter and icing sugar and then add the vanilla essence and food colouring until the icing is formed

Then I used my icing dispenser with the small nozzle that has a sort of cross shape and in circular movements starting from the middle of the cupcakes, working my way round to the outer edges

imag6438imag6440_1

 

 

Leave a Reply

