Dairy Free Rocky Road Cupcakes

I consider myself a foodie with a seriously sweet tooth. I’m known for having what some might call an obsession with Oreos, particularly the mint flavour, but since tasting the rocky road marshmallows from The Wells Marshmallow Company and the rocky road fudge from Feniton Foods which I discovered at the Wells food festival last year, I’ve been craving the chocolatey, gooey, fruity, crunchy combination.

I thought about doing a standard traybake but then I decided to create my own cupcakes. This was the first time that I didn’t follow a recipe and it turned out better than I expected. It didn’t take me long to think about what ingredients I was going to need and how I was going to put it together. The cupcake would be a chocolate and raisin sponge (dairy free) and the frosting would be made out of marshmallow fluff topped with mini marshmallows and crushed digestive biscuits. My only amend would be the biscuits I used, they just weren’t crunchy enough in my opinion. Needless to say though, I still thought they were pretty impressive and certainly satisfied my craving…so if you want to make these cupcakes then here is the recipe.

dairy free rocky road cupcakes

Dairy Free Rocky Road Cupcakes: makes 12-15

Ingredients:

For the chocolate & raisin cupcakes:

100g plain flour

20g cocoa powder

140g caster sugar

1½ teaspoons of baking powder

40g of dairy free butter

120ml almond milk

1 egg

¼ teaspoon of vanilla extract

Flame raisins

For the decoration:

Marshmallow fluff

Mini pink and white marshmallows

Crushed digestive biscuits (if you’re doing this recipe dairy free then you will need to check the ingredients but I used Tesco everyday value digestive biscuits)

 How to…

First of all preheat your oven 170°c and line your baking tray with cupcake cases

Then to make the cupcakes beat together the flour, cocoa powder, caster sugar, baking powder and butter until you get a crumbly mixture

In a separate bowl, whisk together the milk, egg and vanilla essence

Pour this into the crumbly mixture and beat until combined and the mixture is smooth

Then add in as many of your raisins as you like but do it a little bit at a time so you don’t overdo it

Divide the mixture between the cases and pop them into bake for 25 minutes

Once cooked, leave them on a wire rack to cool down completely before decorating

For the topping, add a dollop of marshmallow fluff to each cupcake and spread it over the top using a knife

Place about 7 mini marshmallows on top of the fluff

Crush a couple of digestive biscuits, ensuring you have different size pieces and sprinkle them over the top of each cupcake

dairy free rocky road cupcakesimag7224_1

 

Leave a Reply

