Valentine’s Cake

Due to a cold I’ve been out of the kitchen this week, which means my baking plans have taken a back seat. I’m feeling better now and there was one Valentine’s Day inspired bake that I just had to do.

I love all the hearts and flowers that surround Valentine’s Day and so I decided to combine the two. Using my two heart shaped baking tins and the icing nozzle that during National Cupcake Week I discovered created a rose like pattern, I baked a heart shaped cake with roses.

I’ve gone quite simple with the flavours, a vanilla sponge teamed with almond icing, coloured in pink of course and finished off with edible pearls. From a bird’s eye view, the cake looks pretty good, if I do say so myself, it’s the sides that are less than perfect. I greased the tins and was careful when using a blunt kitchen knife to separate the cake edges from the tin, but the light sponge did crumble in places. Perhaps I left it to cool a little too long in the tins, but it still looks lovely and more importantly, it tastes sweet and delicious. So if you fancy giving it a go too, then the recipe is below. Happy Baking and Happy Valentines!

img_20170211_155906_775

Vanilla & Almond Heart Cake with Roses

Note: Depending on the size of your heart tins, you may have some mixture left over so why not make a few cupcakes too!

Ingredients:

For the sponge:

120g plain flour

140g caster sugar

1½ teaspoons of baking powder

A pinch of salt

40g dairy free butter

120ml dairy free milk

1 egg

¼ teaspoon of vanilla extract

For the icing:

150g icing sugar

40g dairy free butter

¼ teaspoon of almond extract

Edible pearls for decoration

How to…

Preheat the oven 170°C and grease the two heart shaped tins

In a bowl beat together the flour, sugar, baking powder, salt and butter until you get a sandy consistency

Pour in half the milk and then beat until combined

In a separate jug, whisk the egg, remaining milk and vanilla extract and pour into the bowl and beat until combined

Divide the mixture between the two heart shaped tins (and any cupcake cases if there is any mixture left over)

Bake for 20 – 25 minutes until lightly golden or when you insert a skewer in the middle and it comes out clean

Leave on a wire rack to cool

Gently remove the sponge out of the heart shaped tins

Once cooled, make the icing by beating together the icing sugar butter and almond extract

Add the pink food colouring until you get the desired colour

Pop the nozzle in the icing bag, transfer the icing into the bag and cut the tip of the bag as close as possible to the nozzle. Then in circular motions, pipe the icing onto the cakes

To finish the cakes, place the edible pearls either in the centre of the roses or in between the roses

imag8249_1imag8251_1

4 Comments Add yours

  1. These look amazing!!!

    If you have the time I’d appreciate it if you checked out my baking post https://sophiesamantha.wordpress.com/2017/03/15/the-start-of-spring-baking-2017/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Sophie, thanks for your comment! I had a look at your baking post and both the muffins and banana bread looks delicious. Funnily enough these are two things my brother really likes and I promised to make him some banana bread when he came home so perhaps I’ll try out your recipe.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oo haha well I hope the recipe is alright to follow then haha 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. lol I’ll have to let you know how I get on 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

