Lemon Drizzle Cupcakes

Lemon drizzle is a classic flavour usually associated with a loaf cake or a traybake, but I like my own individual portion. I don’t want to cut a piece and be judged for taking a slice too big or too slim. So as I have a love of cupcakes, I decided to make some lemon drizzle ones.

Now a lot of lemon cupcake recipes I’ve seen include icing, but my dad isn’t a massive fan of the buttery sweet frosting. So I combined two recipes to make lemon cakes that would satisfy our taste palettes. The sponge was a Hummingbird Bakery recipe and for the drizzle I turned to the baking queen, Mary Berry.

imag4715

Last on my list to complete these cupcakes were the cases they would be baked in. When it comes to cupcakes I like to have cute cases for them, which can sometimes inspire the recipe I use. These yellow and white striped cases from TK Maxx with the phrase ‘love cake’ were not only a bargain at £2.49 but they were just the right colour for this citrus inspired bake.

If you would like to give it a go, then the recipe for these quick and easy treats (that are ideal for a mid-morning or mid-afternoon tea break) is below.

img_20160518_144502

Lemon Drizzle Cupcakes

Ingredients:

For the cupcakes:

120g plain flour

150g caster sugar

1 ½ tsp of baking powder

40g unsalted butter 

2 tbsp of lemon zest (I used 2 lemons for this and kept a bit back for the topping)

120ml of whole milk

1 egg

For the topping:

175g caster sugar

Juice of 2 lemons

Remaining lemon zest

How to…

Preheat the oven to 170°c.

Mix the flour, sugar, baking powder, butter and lemon zest in a bowl until you get a crumbly mixture.

Gradually add the milk and whisk until combined.

Add the egg and whisk again until combined.

Split the mixture between the cupcakes cases and put them in the oven for 20 – 25 minutes (I checked mine after 20 before putting them in for a further 2 minutes).

Lemon drizzle cupcakesimag4727

While the cupcakes are in the oven, mix together the sugar and lemon juice.

Once the cupcakes are cooked, remove from the oven and straight away drizzle the sugar and lemon juice mixture over each cupcake. (You may want to repeat this step a few times over each one as you want to create a nice sugary topping).

To finish off the cupcakes, add a bit of lemon zest to the top of each one.

Lemon drizzle cupcakesLemon Drizzle Cupcakes

Enjoy each cake with a lovely cup of tea and for me, there is nothing better than a fragrant Earl Grey.

Lemon Drizzle Cupcake

Leave a Reply

