Buttermilk Pancakes

When February rolls around you think of two things – Valentine’s Day and Pancake Day. In the supermarkets, the space that was dedicated to hearts, chocolates and flowers, now has frying pans, pancake mix and spatulas. And with less than a week to go, I thought I would get practising my flipping skills.

As a child I was never really a fan of Pancake Day. It was always the rest of my family that was eager for it. Don’t get me wrong I still had some, but while my family poured lemon juice and sprinkled sugar over theirs, mine were soaked in golden syrup. As I’ve got older though, not only have my taste buds changed, but pancakes have become a more common dish, particularly as a breakfast option in restaurants and cafes, and you can get all sorts of toppings from fresh fruit, to maple syrup and bacon and even more savoury flavours.

Delicious Magazine February Issue

Inspired by the latest issue of Delicious magazine, I decided to give their buttermilk pancakes a go and surprisingly it was easier than I thought. I got the hang of flipping the pancakes with a spatula, of course just as I thought I was getting good the next flip would go pear-shaped. When it came to the topping, I decided to cheat slightly. With an open jar of Nutella sauce, I warmed a generous dollop in the microwave and finished the dish with freshly sliced, plain bananas. Still yummy! On my second night of pancakes, (well there was leftover buttermilk, I had to use it) I kept the bananas but reverted back to my childhood with some golden syrup. Both times were scrumptious, even my parents thought so and I’m pretty sure my brother will be asking me to make these again when he comes home in April – not a problem.

So with Pancake Day fast approaching, I’ve put the recipe below for the buttermilk pancakes but how will you top yours?

Buttermilk pancakes with Nutella and banana

Buttermilk Pancakes from the February issue of Delicious Magazine p.28 – makes 12

Ingredients:

150g plain flour

½ teaspoon of baking powder

½ teaspoon of cream tartar

1 tablespoon of caster sugar

2 large eggs, separated

284ml carton of buttermilk

Butter for frying

How to…

Mix the flour, baking powder, cream of tartar and sugar together in a bowl

Make a well in the centre, then add the egg yolks and stir

Continue stirring while you pour in the buttermilk and then stir constantly to form a smooth, thick batter

In a separate bowl, whisk the egg whites until they form soft, floppy peaks

Using a metal spoon or balloon whisk, gently fold the egg whites into the pancake batter in two additions, making a light, fluffy batter

Heat the frying pan and lightly grease with butter (I just put a small knob of butter in before each pancake and let the melted butter move around the pan)

Drop a small ladleful of batter into the hot pan (add another small amount if needed, directly into the centre of the mixture in the pan)

Then smooth them down so they’re around 10cm wide and 1cm thick

Cook on a low-medium heat for 2-3 minutes until golden underneath (or if you shake the pan and they move freely), then using a spatula, flip the pancakes and leave to cook for a minute or so until fluffy and cooked through (the second side takes hardly any time at all, and if you shake the pan and the pancake moves freely it’s definitely done)

Keep warm in a low oven while you make the rest

Then add your desired topping and eat straight away

Buttermilk pancakes with Nutella and bananaimag8346

Leave a Reply

