Dairy Free Oreo Cake

OK so it’s outside my regular posting days of Wednesday and Saturday, but when I woke up this morning to see National Oreo Day tweets on Twitter, I just had to do a post that featured what I consider to be the best biscuit/cookie.

I’ve always been a fan of biscuits that have a cream filling sandwiched in the middle, but there is something about Oreos that has tipped me into the ‘slightly obsessed’ category. I’ve used Oreos in my baking before with Oreo cupcakes (including strawberry cheesecake and mint chocolate varieties) and I’ve added them into brownies, but last year I found a recipe that was the epitome of an Oreo cake.

Shaped like one big Oreo and using four packets of Oreo cookies, it is a dream for Oreo lovers. The original Oreo cake recipe came from Sally’s Baking Addiction and it was the first cake I ever tried to make dairy free. In fact, my first attempt didn’t go so well and by that I mean the cake split in half as I was putting on the chocolate buttercream icing and Tom ended up taking a ‘portion’ home that was wrapped in foil, while the remainder of the smashed cake was left in a Tupperware container and my family and I used forks to dig in when we fancied. I couldn’t quite believe it when it happened, I took a photo, but at 1:30am in the morning, my photographic skills were questionable.

IMAG5182

Two days later and after nearly two small tubs of Green & Black’s cocoa powder and many cups of icing sugar, the second attempt was made. It tasted just as good as the first, even better considering we actually got around to decorating the outside with crushed Oreo pieces and it stayed in one piece – success!

I’m not going to lie though, I made an absolute mess in my kitchen with this cake and if you don’t count my trial run, I have only made it twice (for my birthday and for Tom’s brother as a good luck celebration), but I’m glad I made it and I would make it again if an occasion presented itself.

dairy-free-oreo-cake

If you too would like to give it a go then the recipe for the dairy free version is below – Happy Baking and Happy National Oreo Day!

Dairy Free Oreo Cake:

Ingredients:

For the sponge:

2 packets of Oreo cookies (there may be some left over for snacking on)

¾ cup of cocoa powder (I use Green & Black’s)

1½ cups of granulated sugar

1½ cups of self-raising flour

1 teaspoon of baking soda

¼ teaspoon of salt

2 large eggs at room temperature

¼ cup of vegetable oil

250g Coyo dairy free coconut yoghurt

2 teaspoons of vanilla extract

½ cup of hot water

1 cup of milk free chocolate

For the white buttercream icing for the filling:

Note: I didn’t use all the filling so you may want to reduce the quantities

¼ cup of dairy free butter (I use Flora Freedom)

¼ cup of shortening

2½ cups of icing sugar

2 tablespoons of dairy free milk

2 teaspoons of vanilla extract

For the chocolate buttercream icing:

¾ cup of dairy free butter (I use Flora Freedom)

½ cup of cocoa powder (I use Green & Black’s)

1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

4 cups of icing sugar

¼ cup of dairy free milk

For the Oreo decoration:

2 packets of Oreo cookies (tip: start by crushing 1 – 1½ packets, if you need more then you crush the remaining half a packet, if not then you have some spare Oreos to snack on)

How to…

Preheat the oven to 180°C and line two 20cm round cake tins with baking parchment (tip: you can use round cake tin liners) and lay out the Oreo cookies

IMAG5210

Using an electric mixer, mix together the cocoa powder, sugar, self-raising flour, baking soda and salt

Then add the eggs, oil, coconut yoghurt and vanilla extract until mixed together

Next, add the water and chocolate and stir together with a spoon to combine

Pour the batter over the Oreo cookies in the cake tins and place in the oven leaving them to bake for 32 – 35 minutes

IMAG5211

To test if the cakes are done, insert a cake tester or toothpick into the centre of the cakes and if it comes out clean you can remove the cakes from the oven

While the cakes cool, mix together the butter and shortening until light and fluffy. Then add the icing sugar, dairy free milk and vanilla extract and mix together to combine

Once the cakes are cool, place one sponge on a cake board and spread the white buttercream icing on top. Then place the second sponge on top of the filling. (Admittedly this looks good enough to eat at this stage, but keep going, trust me it’s worth it.)

IMAG5174

To make the chocolate buttercream icing, beat the butter until fluffy. Then beat in the cocoa butter, vanilla extract, icing sugar and dairy free milk until combined

Then spoon the chocolate buttercream icing onto the cake and using a palette knife spread the icing around the cake until it is all covered

Next, crush the Oreo cookies and with yours hands, scoop up the crushed Oreo cookies and pat them against the sides and top of the cake until the cake is completely covered

dairy-free-oreo-cakeIMAG5223

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Andrew Marco says:

    oh. my. goodness. This looks amazing, who can truly hate on oreos?! I’m not much of a baker, but this looks like a good one to follow along. Do you have any other recipes that are similar to this?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, it was a great recipe to try. I don’t think I know anyone that doesn’t like Oreos. I have some other Oreo recipes (cupcakes and brownies) and I have some dairy free recipes too if that’s what you’re looking for.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Andrew Marco says:

    awesome stuff, will definitely have to check those out for sure!!! I’ll find them 🙂

    I was wondering if you were on FB at all? It would be amazing if you could share your recipe in our group, would love for our community of food lovers to check this one out! Check us out here: https://www.facebook.com/groups/OnlyGoodEats/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 🙂 yes I’m on Facebook and would like to join your group, from the description it sounds awesome!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This looks absolutely amazing. I was already sold when I saw saw the cake base, and then you covered it with Oreos too! Perfection. Thanks for sharing the recipe 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. I absolutely love Oreos so when I saw this recipe I just had to make it and make it dairy free too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

