Raspberry Meringue Cake

Today’s recipe is a showstopper, perfect for dinner parties or special occasions. This twist on a classic Pavlova certainly wowed my family and I at the weekend.

As much as I would like to claim this bake as one of my own, unfortunately I can’t. However it was baked by my mum. It was the pièce de résistance to the Mothering Sunday lunch that she prepared and we’ve just finished off the leftovers.

Now because I didn’t make it (nor was I in the kitchen at the time it was made), I can’t give you a first-hand account of this recipe. The only amend I know my mum made was that she added a bit more milk to the sponge mixture as she thought it seemed a bit stiff. I plan to try this recipe myself at some point, so when I do I’ll let you know my own personal thoughts. The cake though was delicious. The raspberries were a sharp taste that complemented the sweetness of the sponge and meringue combination. Then there is the fresh cream, something I just love when it comes to pastries and cakes.

We were all impressed and the next time this cake is made, I will have been the one to make it. If you too would like to give it a go, then the recipe is below.  Happy Baking!

IMG_0811

Raspberry Meringue Cake – March Waitrose Recipe

Ingredients:

100g butter (at room temperature) plus extra for greasing

300g golden caster sugar

4 medium eggs (separated)

2 teaspoons of vanilla extract

2 tablespoons of milk

150g self-raising flour

½ teaspoon of table salt

50g flaked almonds

300ml whipping cream

200g fresh raspberries

Icing sugar for dusting

How to…

Preheat the oven to 200°C and grease 2 cake tins with some butter

Using an electric whisk, beat the butter and 100g of sugar together in a bowl until pale and creamy

Then whisk in the egg yolks, vanilla and milk

Sift over the flour and gently fold in

Divide the mixture equally between the prepared tins

Using clean beaters, whisk the egg whites in a bowl until they form soft peaks

Gradually beat in the salt and the remaining 200g of sugar to make a glossy meringue

Spread over the sponge mixture in the tins and then scatter the flaked almonds over the top

Bake in the oven for 15-20 minutes until golden and set

Leave to cool in the tins

When ready to assemble, remove the cakes from the tins

In a bowl, whisk the cream to form soft peaks and spoon over one of the cakes

Scatter the fresh raspberries and then top with the second cake

Lightly dust with icing sugar before slicing and serving

Raspberry meringue cakeIMG_0814IMG_0811

2 Comments Add yours

  1. That is an incredible cake! I love meringue (:

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It really was and I recommend it too! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

