Apple Rose Tarts

I was recently given the Sainsbury’s food magazine. It was the first time I looked at this magazine and I was impressed by some of the recipes in there. The picture of the finished product is often what inspires me to bake and after the success of my plum & almond tartlets, I was excited to up my game and try these apple rose tarts.

When I went shopping for the ingredients, I couldn’t find any braeburn apples and in order to get a richer colour, I decided to use pink lady apples. The other amend to this recipe that I made (whether it was right or not) was that I used way more water than instructed because 200ml didn’t seem enough.

The actual hands-on elements to this recipe – cutting the strips, arranging the apple slices and rolling the pastry – was actually fairly simple, which I liked. The finished product looks like a lot of care and attention has gone into it, like it’s fiddly, but I would say this is a great recipe for novice bakers looking to impress with something that looks highly skilled.

Unfortunately, (and this may be due to the apples I used and the quantity of water) the tarts didn’t taste quite as I expected. As they were cooking, a strong, sweet cinnamon smell infused the kitchen and the cinnamon taste definitely came through, but the apple was bland. To be fair, I’m not a lover of cooked fruit. I love apple crumble, but I eat the apple first and the crumble topping second because it’s the crumble topping that I love. You might be asking why I chose to make this recipe, but the answer would be that I wasn’t making it just for me and for some, they liked these tarts. So perhaps it’s down to preference. I do want to try these tarts again and this time I will use braeburn apples just in case it makes a difference.

If you would like to give these tarts a go, then the recipe from the Sainsbury’s magazine is below.

Apple Rose Tarts

Apple Rose Tarts (makes 12) – Sainsbury’s Magazine p.66

Ingredients:

4 small reddish-skinned apples such as Braeburns

1 tube of Dr Oetker pink gel food colour

200ml of water

1 x 375g pack ready-rolled puff pastry

2 tablespoons of caster sugar

1 tablespoon of ground cinnamon

15g melted butter (I used Flora Freedom to make the recipe dairy free)

Icing sugar for dusting

How to…

Preheat the oven to 180°C (if a fan oven)

Quarter the apples, remove the cores and cut the apples into the thinnest slices possible

Put 200ml water in a lidded frying pan with the pink food colouring, stir well and then add the apples. Mix gently to coat and then cover with a lid and cook for 5-7 minutes until the apples are transparent and blushed pink

Apple slices

Then drain through a sieve and spread out on a large plate or baking tray lined with kitchen paper and leave to cool

Apple slicesIMG_0706

Remove the pastry from the fridge 10 minutes before using

Unroll the pastry onto a lightly floured work surface so that it lies as a horizontal rectangle

Roll it out thinner (just rolling directly away from you with the rolling pin) until the pastry measures about 30cm deep

Mix the sugar and cinnamon together and sprinkle evenly over the pastry

Cut 12 vertical strips of pastry each about 2cm wide (you don’t need all the pastry)

Brush a 12 hole cupcake or muffin tray with melted butter

Taking one strip of pastry at a time, stretch it out until it is about 38-40cm long

Arrange 10-15 apple slices, slightly overlapping, along the length of the pastry. The apple slices should be placed half-sitting on the pastry, with the curved peel edge sticking out onto the worktop, to form the petals. Then place in one hole of the prepared tray

IMG_0711IMG_0713IMG_0717

Repeat with the remaining pastry strips and apples to make more tarts

Apple Rose Tarts

Cover loosely with foil – this is important or the apples will burn

Bake for 45 – 60 minutes or until the pastry is crisp

Gently lift the tarts out of the tin and transfer to a wire rack

While still warm, gently ease out the apple petals to make them look prettier, if you wish

Leave to cool and dust with icing sugar before serving

Apple Rose TartsIMG_0746IMG_0750

Leave a Reply

