Mini Egg Marshmallows

Every Saturday I venture up town and browse the stalls of the local market. One of my absolute faves is a quaint marshmallow stand by The Wells Marshmallow Company. With a vintage inspired look, the stall is dressed with pink and purple flowers in glass jars and they offer a variety of marshmallows in different flavours and colours to match. When I first came across their stall last year, I was drawn to their Oreo marshmallows (obviously) and since then I’ve tried a new flavour each week including Terrys chocolate orange, banoffee, honeycombe and my new favourite, rocky road.

I never used to be a massive fan of marshmallows, but these light and incredibly fluffy treats have changed my opinion and now it’s part of my Saturday morning routine. After seeing their wonderful display of flavours last Saturday, I was inspired to create my own and create some Easter themed marshmallows using a much-loved Easter chocolate…so say hello to my mini egg marshmallows.

Now I was going to make my own marshmallows, but when I saw this artisan marshmallow kit in Lakeland, I thought I would give it a go. The kit contains just three ingredients – gelatine, marshmallow mix and coating powder. The instructions were incredibly easy to follow and it was fairly quick to put together too. The only criticism would be that the mixture was not easy to spread and smooth in a tray lined with cling film, although I wonder if my mixture was already beginning to set at this point. Overall, I was impressed with how my marshmallows turned out, not only did they look better than I expected but they tasted great too. A light, fluffy texture, similar to the ones I love to buy each Saturday and the mini egg topping was egg-tastic (sorry for the obligatory egg pun) and it added a nice crunchy texture.

Mini Egg Marshmallows

If you would like to give these a try at home, then the recipe is below. As for me I’m off to buy some marshmallows because I just can’t resist…Happy Baking!

Mini Egg Marshmallows – makes 12

Ingredients:

Artisan marshmallow kit from Lakeland

100ml warm water

Yellow food colouring

Broken mini eggs for decorating

How to…

Line a square tray with cling film

Add 100ml of warm water to a saucepan and sprinkle in the gelatine sachet – leave for 5 minutes

water and gelatine

Add the marshmallow mix sachet and gently heat until all the sugar has dissolved – ensure the mixture does not boil

water, gelatine and marshmallow mixwater, gelatine and marshmallow mix on the hob

Transfer the hot mixture to a heat proof bowl and beat with an electric mixer for 8-10 minutes until the mixture becomes thick and glossy white peaks have formed

Add as much yellow food colouring as you need to get the desired colour and gently fold the colour into the mixture

Spoon the mixture into the tray and smooth as evenly as you can

 Sprinkle the broken mini eggs over the top

Mini Egg MarshmallowsIMG_0860

Allow to set at room temperature for around 2 hours

Dust a worktop with around half of the coating mix and slowly tip the cooled marshmallow mixture on top

Peel away the cling film and cut into squares

Use the rest of the coating mix to dust over the marshmallows before turning over and outing on a plate ready to serve

Mini Egg MarshmallowsMini Egg MarshmallowsIMG_0885IMG_0889

This month I’ve linked up with Treat Petite – Thanks to Cakeyboi & The Baking Explorer (who hosted this month)

treat petite logo

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Kat Buckley says:

    These sound like yummy little bites of heaven! Mini eggs are my absolute favourite Easter treat! Thanks for linking up to #TreatPetite

    Like

    1. Thank you, they were so delicious! Mini eggs are my favourite too so will definitely be doing a few more bakes with them in.

      Like

Leave a Reply

