Profiteroles

With dad in France admiring classic cars, mum and I are spending a few days at home which means a stack of DVDs to watch, home style salon and a selection of naughty treats.

Profiteroles, bubbly, flowers and nail polish

Today’s recipe was the technique challenge from the May issue of Delicious magazine. As soon as I saw it, I knew it would be perfect for my little break with mum. So this morning, with my pyjamas still on, I put on my apron and got baking.

Although these profiteroles were a technique challenge, I found them quite simple to make. The difficulty was getting a consistent size and shape across the board, but having a few different shapes just proves they’re homemade. Now I do also need to admit that I made a second batch, but that was only due to the first batch being a darker colour than I would have liked. So on my second go, I checked them after 18 minutes and took them out then to get a light golden colour. Filling them with cream was also an easy task – my tip though would be to balance each bun with the nozzle inserted into the hole and use both hands to squeeze the piping bag. Then there’s the dipping of chocolate, which was just fun and messy.

The original recipe makes 40-50, but with just mum and I (and a whole lot of other treats tucked away), I decided to half the recipe and make just 24, plus 2 mini éclairs. If you would like to have a go at these light and fluffy treats, then you can find the recipe below. Happy Baking!

Note: The below recipe is as stated in the magazine, I halved the ingredients to reduce the amount of profiteroles made.

Profiteroles, May Issue of Delicious Magazine, p.114

Ingredients:

200ml of water

90g butter

120g plain flour

4 medium eggs

For the topping:

Chocolate of your choice to be melted (I used milk chocolate with sea salt from Tesco)

Add crumbled fudge for added texture (I used sea salt fudge by Suzy Sweet Tooth which I purchased at the Dartington Food Festival)

How to…

Preheat the oven to 200°C and line 3-4 baking trays with greaseproof paper

Put the water and butter in a saucepan, bring to the boil and stir with a wooden spoon until the butter has melted

Remove the pan from the heat and sieve in the flour

Stir vigorously for a few minutes until the mixture thickens and comes away clean from the sides of the pan

Return the pan to the heat for 2 minutes to dry the mixture out, beating with a spoon as you do so

Put the choux in a large cold bowl and leave to cool for 2 minutes

Beat in the 4 eggs one at a time, until the mixture has a dropping consistency

Spoon the mixture into a piping bag and either cut the end or fit it with a 1cm nozzle

Pipe 40-50 small swirls onto the lined baking sheets, spacing them at least 2.5cm apart

Push down any pointy tips with a wet finger

ProfiterolesIMG_2169

Bake in the oven for 20-25 minutes (I checked mine after 18 minutes and they were done)

ProfiterolesIMG_2172

Once baked, make a hole in the base of each bun using a skewer or cocktail stick

Lightly whip some cream and using a piping bag and small nozzle, fill each bun with cream

Profiteroles - filling with whipped cream

Then dip the tops in melted chocolate or serve the sauce and any other topping on the side for people to decorate as they want

ProfiterolesIMG_2188IMG_2189IMG_2191IMG_2284Profiteroles

 

Leave a Reply

