Raspberry & White Chocolate Muffins

Last weekend saw me busy baking for the baby shower, but I was also entering flapjacks and muffins into the Mid-Somerset Show.

The Mid-Somerset Show is an annual event, local to where I live. It’s a fun family day out with plenty of stalls to look round, competitions to enter, classic car displays, livestock classes and much more.

Last year was the first time I entered my baking into the show (well any show for that matter) and I won first place with my strawberry & white chocolate cupcakes and dairy free Oreo brownies. So this year, my friends and colleagues tasted four types of flapjacks and four types of muffins in a bid to help me decide which recipe to enter. After all the taste testing and feedback I received, I decided to go with the maple & pecan flapjacks and raspberry & white chocolate muffins and I’m pleased to tell you that I won second place for my muffins (nothing for the flapjacks though, although the winning ones looked more traditional). I’m so happy to have won 2nd place and want to congratulate everyone that entered in the show as all the bakes looked amazing! Looking forward to entering next year…

If you would like to give these muffins a go, then the recipe is below. Happy Baking!

Raspberry & White Chocolate Muffins

Ingredients:

115g butter

115g light soft brown sugar

150ml cold milk

2 medium eggs, beaten

½ teaspoon of vanilla extract

250g self-raising flour

½ teaspoon of bicarbonate soda

100g raspberries

55g white chocolate chips

White chocolate, melted to drizzle over the top

How to…

Preheat your oven to 170° and line your muffin tray with 8-9 tulip cases or 12 of muffin cases

Melt the butter and the sugar in the saucepan and then leave to cool slightly

Add the milk, eggs and vanilla

Sift the flour, bicarbonate of soda and salt into a large mixing bowl

Add the white chocolate chips and raspberries, then using a metal spoon quickly fold in the milk mixture using as few strokes as possible – careful not to over-mix

Raspberries & white chocolate chipsRaspberry & white chocolate muffins

Quickly spoon the mixture into the muffin cases and bake for 20 – 25 minutes or until cooked

Leave on a wire rack to cool

Raspberry & white chocolate muffinsIMG_3717

2 Comments Add yours

  1. SavouriesbyS says:

    These look delicious! A must try

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

